First Date

Day 2 is spent with a female counsel in the County Court ALL day. I have a dislike to family law, especially when it involves children. Listening to petty parents arguing with each other at the cost of the tax payer is not my idea of fun, but still, it’s an experience that I will one day value. At about 4pm I walk the route that leads to Chambers from the Court, never know might bump in to… ah, there he is HOC loading his car up with box files. I give him a wave and he jokingly gives me the V’s and beckons me over.

‘What you up to? Skiving off like a naughty school girl huh?’ he says

hmmm he wishes

‘I’ve decided on two things today, 1) I don’t like family law and 2)…’

‘…you need a pint?’

Well that’s not what I was going to say but hey I’d be a fool to turn down that offer

As we’re sat drinking in a nice little wine bar he tells me he’s impressed with my drink choice, a pint of premium lager. He teased me by saying he thought I’d be more of a spritzer kinda gal. ‘The only wine I drink is champagne,’ he smiles ‘expensive taste I see.’ –yeah too right and don’t forget it!

We talk for ages, he tells me about his career, being at the Criminal Bar for 25 years, sits as a recorder regularly and has even applied to be the Resident Judge!

I have to admit I was a little tipsy by the time I left. He’s really entertaining to talk to, our flirtatious comments were bouncing off each other perfectly, he said he loved the way my dry humour mixed in with my wit and he had already decided with the guys from chambers that I’m going to make a great barrister. Hmmm now that sounds like a line he’s used before. Gotta watch out for these types, I better up my game if I’m guna play things my way….

This entry was posted in law, law and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

